Desiree’s Devotional

“When you find yourself in the position to help someone, be happy and feel blessed, because god is answering that persons prayer through you. Remember that our purpose on earth is not to get lost in the dark, but to be a light to others so that they may find a way through us”.

God calls us to be the light that leads others to find their way! He answers their prayers through us! Yikes that’s seems overwhelming and scary but yet amazing at the same time.

As a mom I often find myself so busy (sometimes stuck in a dark place) that I don’t even have time to think let alone hear what god has to say to me. How am I suppose to be the light that shines for others to see and to help them find their way?

I always assume that prayers need to be large and full of really important things and sometimes they are but i also think people pray little things too and that those little things are just as important.

Like maybe a senior, let’s say a grandmother looks around her at the grocery store and all she sees is hustle and bustle and people pushing her around without even realizing that they’re doing it. Maybe her prayer the night before was that she would go to the grocery store and a nice polite young person would hold the door for her or help her get a cart and wish her a wonderful day.

Maybe a supper that was made for a family at church who is dealing with illness or loss was also an answered prayer.

A smile in the right direction, a hug for a person who looked like they really just needed it, a genuine compliment to a coworker or fellow mama that makes her feel beautiful, because they have been suffering in silence feeling poorly about the way they look since having a baby.

I think all these little things are the light that god calls us to shine! There are bigger and more complicated things as well; situations that will push us out of our comfort zones and we need to be prepared to answer those calls as well.

But as a mom I believe that Gods call for me to be his hands and feet is much less overwhelming when I look at more of the little things.

It may be as little as modeling how to be a good person to my children showing them kindness and how to be kind to others. Not just because it’s the right thing to do, but because it’s what God asks of us. When I live life with joy and love it helps me to know that God is right there beside me.

So for now I will be content on keeping my focus on the smaller things and find joy in the fact that I can be someone else’s light, but most importantly remember that I am only that light because I have God there asking me to be! And this makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

